Ski Jumping Four Hills Tournament 2014

The four Hills Toernee includes four prestigious ski jumping, to be held in Oberstdorf, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Innsbruck and Bischofshofen. The most famous event of the four Hills Tour is the race in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, which traditionally is held on January 1. Calendar of the four Hills Tour appears on the 2014-2015 season out? Which participants are among the Favorites to win this regatta?Through what channels these games will be broadcast live on TV? What is the history of the four Hills Tour go?

The history of the four Hills Tour

The first edition of the Four Hills Tour took place in 1953. The first competition was held in the season on January 1 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Here was between 20 000 and 30 000 spectators in attendance. The Norwegian Asgeir He won the first match. Thereafter, the Austrian Sepp Bradl won the first final classification of the four Hills Tour. The first four Hills Tour was a great success. The four matches this ranking count since then are considered by many in the world of ski jumping as the four Grand Slam tournament ski jumping. It was the first Four Hills Tournee, moreover, be revised later in the world of ski jumping would apply: immediately after each hop must give each judge score. Earlier gave the jury only at the end of the game points to participants.


The record in terms of the number of final victories in the four Hills Tour is the Finn Janne Ahonen.He won the final standings five times. Two on the list is the German Jens Weissflog. He won four times in total. When passed a ski jumper managed to win all four games in a season: it was Sven Hannewald in season 2001-2002.

The four matches

Four Hills Tour opens with two games in Germany. The opening is usually in Oberstdorf, at Stattenbergschans. The competition takes place during the last week of december. The other German breeds are the most famous in the world, namely skispringwedstrijd Neujahrsspringen Große Olympiaschanze the southern German town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen. The final of the contest in the Garmis-Partenkirchen is always January 1. The Fort is called “Große Olympiaschanze” the fact that ski jumping took place at this location during the Olympic Games in 1936 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen.
After the two German races, there are two games in Austria. The first Austrian event is usually around 3 or 4 January at Bergiselschanze, Innsbruck. Four Hills tour ends with a game at the Paul-Ausserleitner-Schanze in Bischofshofen. Usually the last race to be held at the “Epiphany”, but sometimes a day later.

The name “of the Four Hills Tournament”

In German, the name of this series of games “in the four hills tournament. The Swedish translation of this race series is sometimes referred to as the “Four Hills Tournament, but more often they use the name in the Dutch sports media” Four Hills Tour “.

Four Hills Tour and World

Four Hills Tour was for decades the status, a kind of unofficial WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP ski jumping. In the late seventies, the International Ski Federation FIS, however, an official World Cup organization. All four matches of the four Hills Tour was from the first official World Cup season is also a part of the World Cup, which also consisted of a large number of other top matches. Since then they have matches Four Hills Tour earn both points for the standings in World Cup ski jumping, which points to a breakdown of the four Hills Tour.

Contest Form

When the matches in Four Hills Tour can be found in the first round, a tiebreaker question site via the so-called knock-out system. All fifty participants who have qualified for the first round, to jump in the first round against another participant. There are 25 duels. All 25 winners of those matches will qualify automatically for the finals. In addition, qualifying five losers who have jumped the best even before the finale, in which a total of 30 jumpers.


Among the contenders for the overall victory in the four Hills Tour in 2014-2015 includes the defending champion, the Austrian Thomas Diet Heart, World Cup winner Gregor Schlierenzauer, Norwegian Anders Bardal and pole Kamil Stoch.

Calendar Four Hills tour in 2014-2015

  • 27 and December 28, 2014: Oberstdorf
  • December 31, 2014 and 1 January 2015: Garmis-Partenkirchen
  • 3 and 4 jan 2015: Innsbruck
  • 5 and 6 January 2015: Bischofshofen


Competition in Oberstdorf had moved due to weather conditions on Sunday and Monday. The Austrian Stefan Kraft won the race, ahead of compatriot Michael Hayböck, Slovenia’s Peter Prevec
and the pole Kamil Stoch.
Game in the Garmis-Partenkirchen was won by Anders Jacobsen, for Ammann and Prevc. Stefan Force was only sixth, but the Austrian was able to hold the lead in the standings in the four Hills Tour.
The railing in Innsbruck, the victory went to the German Richard Freitag. This was the first German victory in 12 years in a race that counts towards the four Hills Tour. The Austrian Stefan Force was second in Innsbruck and retained the lead in the standings in the four Hills Tour.
Austrian Michael Hayböck won in Bischofshofen on the final of Four Hills Tour in 2014-2015. The Japanese Noriaki Kasai was second. Third place went to Bischofshofen to Austrian Stefan Force, thereby also won the final victory in the Championship for the four Hills Tour.

Live on TV

The matches of the Four Hills Tour will be broadcast live on television from Eurosport. NOS Studio Sport will broadcast live on 1 January 2015, the race in Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

Previous issue: results Four Hills tour 2013-2014

In the first contest of the four Hills Tour in Oberstdorf 2013-2014 was won by the Swiss Simon Amman.On new year’s Eve 2014 competition in Garmisch-Partenkirchen was won by Austrian Thomas Diethart. The third game was won by Finn Anssi Koivuranta. In the last contest in Bischofshofen Thomas Diethart won for the second time a match of this tour and that’s why he took the overall victory in the Championship for the four Hills Tour.